Cooking from the Cabinets: Day 2

(Formatting fixes made, prepare to be inundated!!)

Day 2 of the Cabinet challenge and boy are you going to be disappointed…

No, I didn’t break the challenge again. C’mon, I’m better than that. However, of my very few posts to the site, one of the few things I have already shown you is how I make chicken pie and guess what we made? 🙂  So this is a review in most ways.

Breakfast was cereal (exciting, no?) but that’s off the table now because I used the last of the milk. Oops.  Lunch was a turkey sandwich and chips, and a snack was a couple of handfuls of seasoned nuts (a mixture of almonds, peanuts, cashews and sunflower seeds roasted together. Yet another thing I promise to post later). So for dinner I was digging through the fridge and found some leftover rotisserie chicken that I got at Costco several days ago. It was destined to end up at that great dumpster in the sky had I not rescued it from its fate in the very back of the fridge.  I’m so charitable.

Anyway, Chubby Hubby and I picked all the meat off the bones and diced it up nicely. In retrospect, I really, really wish I had saved the bones to make stock, but I frequently make my own rotisserie chickens so it will simply have to wait and be a post for another day.

So, to review, we took the chicken, diced it up and put it in a greased casserole dish. I added a bag of mixed frozen veggies, a can of cream of mushroom soup, a cup and a half of chicken broth, and some seasonings (the classics: salt, pepper, poultry seasonings, onion and garlic powder, etc.). Once this is well mixed together I make my crust mixture and pour it on top. Bake this in a 400-425 degree oven for about an hour, or until the crust is brown and the casserole is bubbling.

20140518_001614

This is one of Chubby Hubby’s favorites, which I think is why he offered to help, and he ate a big helping AND took some to work for lunch. This one is always a hit and it was nice to not have to fuss with dinner.

What are some of your favorite “go-to” recipes?


 

Leave a Reply

