Cooking from the Cabinets: Day 3

Day 3—Monday, lazy Monday.

Didn’t mean to torture you, but this particular Monday the Chubby Hubby and I were both off so this was our quality time day. We spent this day in our pj’s  and watched House of Cards, so what we ate were things we could grab while the show was paused.

Breakfast was coffee, turkey bacon, toast and eggs. When we’re off together we generally make a big breakfast, but since we’re out of grits, pancake makings, and most of our fruit so we keep it simple. The bad thing is, in full disclosure, we got up, showered, ate breakfast, and took a nap. 🙂 Yup, it was one of those days!

Lunch was chicken noodle soup and grilled ham and cheese sandwiches. I haven’t eaten much chicken noodle soup since I got grown, but I have to tell you how much it hit the spot. Warm chicken noodle soup on a sore throat was just the ticket.

Mm-mm-mm-mm-good!

Mm-mm-mm-mm-good!

While Chubby Hubby was working on our sandwiches, I put some thought into dinner. Didn’t see anything in the actual cabinet that really struck my fancy, so I started digging through the freezer and came across some beef burritos I had stuck in the freezer a month or so ago.

I found this great blog on Pinterest called “Fun with Sharps!”, and thought that their recipe for the burritos looked good. I also liked that I could half it and use I for two meals, which we did. Shortly after I prepped them, Chubby Hubby had to go out-of-town for work for a couple of weeks. His company was generously putting him up in an extended stay type place with a kitchenette, so we fixed him up with the small slow cooker and all kinds of things to throw in there to eat when he didn’t feel like fast food.  He fixed them and talked about how good it was so I kept meaning to make them for myself but never got around to it.

I hope I’m not alone in this, but sometimes I prep for things and feel good because I’m prepared and then completely forget that they’re there. Which is why I decided to start this experiment in the first place was to clear out some of my reserves!

So we stuck the fixins in the slow cooker and went back to our show. A couple of hours go by and we start to smell the beef. Yums. It smells heavenly. When I decide its dinner time I go in and check, looks good to me! I shred the beef and make efforts to pull out the peppercorns. This part is a little rough because they’re small and the sauce is chunky. It’s worth the effort though, because I found one I missed when I was eating and it was a bit strong.  Overall, these were very good and very easy considering that all I did today was thaw them a bit in the sink, dump it in the slow cooker and shred it. Even the initial prep I remember being not too complicated. We ate them with a bit of Greek yogurt and some salsa on some whole wheat tortillas. This is definitely going on the list to make again. Recipe listed below.

Beef Burritos (from SOURCE: http://fun-with-sharps.blogspot.com/2012/10/well-you-cant-say-i-never-cook.html?m=1):
(6+ servings)

  • 1 London Broil or top round roast (about 2 lbs)

    Very, very good. A little salsa and some greek yogurt and tasty dinner complete.

    Very, very good. A little salsa and some Greek yogurt and tasty dinner complete.

  • 1 diced onion
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tablespoons whole peppercorns
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 2 (8 oz) cans tomato sauce
  • 1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce – Use just 1 pepper!! (It’s in a can.)
  • 1 ½ teaspoon chili powder (you can adjust this according to your taste)
  1. Add all the above ingredients into a freezer bag.
  2. When you are ready to cook the meal, dump the contents of the bag into the crock pot and cook on high for 4-5 hours or low for 6-7 hours Cook on high for 4-5 hours or low for 6-7 hours.
  3. When the meat is cooked, you will need to strain the juices and add the juice back to the slow cooker. (You want to remove the peppercorns and onions.) Shred the meat and add back to the juice in the slow cooker for about 30 minutes. This is one of our favorite recipes. My kids eat it as long as we have leftovers.

    20140518_204637

    Whoops! Missed some peppercorns! Still very yummy!


Faithful readers, I do promise tomorrow to put in some very good effort and whip up something memorable from the contents of our cabinets.

In the meantime, want to share any ideas of our next Netflix show to binge on? House of Cards is very good so far!


 

Leave a Reply

