Yummy Broccoli…No, Really!!

I don’t like vegetables. There, I said it. Yes, I’m an (almost) 31-year-old woman. I pay taxes, I do my own laundry; I’ve unclogged a drain, fixed a flat tire, and dealt with things where my first impulse was to find the nearest adult. I still just don’t like vegetables.

I decided a few years ago that eating vegetables was just going to be a necessary evil. I Googled (as we all do so frequently now when we want to know things in the immediate moment that we wonder them) what the most overall nutritious vegetables were and decided to learn to eat them, not like them, but eat them. If I had to force myself to consume something, I may as well go for broke, right?

The list included spinach, romaine lettuce, broccoli, kale, Brussel sprouts, and many other foods of the green persuasion (if you’re actually curious of the most nutritious foods, a list can be found here). Some, like kale, I’ve still not developed a taste for; but most can actually be quite yummy if you know how to make them. Like the star of today’s show: Broccoli…or, as I used to refer to it: evil little trees.

Oven Roasted Broccoli with Parmesan

  1. Start with dry, fresh broccoli (frozen won’t work, as it just won’t crisp up right), as much as you desire to make. I will say, it roasts more evenly if it’s chopped up small and uniformly.
  2. Grab a bowl, and toss it in olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder (to taste).
  3. Lay it out on a foil-lined sheet pan, arrange it in a single layer, and roast in a 400 degree oven for about 20 mins.
  4. Remove from oven and squeeze the juice of a lemon over it (ranging from 1/2-1 whole, depending on the amount of broccoli and how much you love lemon juice). Return to oven for another 5 minutes. (At this stage, the broccoli will be dark green, and maybe beginning to brown a bit)
  5. Remove from oven, sprinkle with parmesan cheese (shredded works best, but grated will work fine) to taste. Return once more to oven and roast another 5-7 minutes, to allow the parmesan to brown and crisp.
Browned Broccoli Goodness

Browned Broccoli Goodness

When finished, the broccoli is crisp on the outside, soft on the inside, slightly bitter with the saltiness of the Parmesan and the brightness of the lemon juice.

It.Is.DELICIOUS.

I can literally eat an entire batch by myself, me, the girl who doesn’t like veggies.

Give it a try, I know you’ll like it as much as I do. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

